The Mission of the Museum of Performance + Design is to keep the unfolding history of the performing arts in the San Francisco Bay Area alive. We collect, preserve and interpret materials on performance and theater design to support learning, appreciation and creativity within a world-wide community of artists, researchers and the general public.


Board of Trustees 

Elyse Eng, President

Joyce Reitman, Vice-President
Jessica MacDermid, Secretary
John Vlahos
Bruce Walker



Muriel Maffre, Executive Director

Kirsten Tanaka, Head Librarian/Archivist

Supriya Wronkiewicz, San Francisco Ballet Archivist/Project Archivist


Scholars Affiliates

Michael Hunter, Katherine Mezur 


The Museum of Performance + Design is supported in part by

Anonymous, The Mervyn L. Brenner Foundation Inc.,  The Capital Union Group, Fleishhacker Foundation, Ann & Gordon Getty Foundation, John & Marcia Goldman Foundation, Lisa & Douglas Goldman Fund, Grants For The Arts/Hotel Tax Fund, Institute of Museum & Library Services, Voluntary Tax Contribution Funds, National Endowment for the ArtsWallis Foundation, Zellerbach Family Foundation


Russell Hartley Society

Robert Mailer Anderson and Nicola Miner,  Mr. and Mrs. Joachim Bechtle, Vera Carpeneti, Mr.and Mrs. Mark Casey, Ms. Delia F. Ehrlich, Elyse Eng, Mr. and Mrs. William Fisher, Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Fisher. Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Gans, Stanlee Gatti. Mr. and Ms. John Goldman, Dr. Jeffrey Hays and Carole Shorenstein Hays, Ambassador James C. Hormel, Mr. Herbert B. Kennedy, Pattie Lawton, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Mauze, Nion McEvoy, Latifa Medjdoub and Brant Downes, Mary Miner, Diana Nelson and John Atwater, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Newman, Damon Raike, Joyce Reitman and Joe Drummond, Mr. Barrett Shaver, Roselyne Swig, Richard Thalheimer, Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Walker, Diane B. Wilsey

Community Partners
A Simple Collective
Yerba Buena Alliance

Business Partners
Jamber Wine Pub
La Méditerranée
Noah's Bagels 

Business Affiliations
Dance Heritage Coalition
Yerba Buena Community Benefit District